Aussie Millions Poker Championship schedule released for 2017

Aussie Millions
Earlier this year Ari Engel hit gold at the Aussie Millions Poker Championship, winning the Main Event
Earlier this year Ari Engel hit gold at the Aussie Millions Poker Championship, winning the Main Event.

The schedule for Australia’s premier poker event, the Aussie Millions, was released on Friday morning.

The Aussie Millions Poker Championship will run from January 11 to 30 and will feature many of the world’s best players.

It’s an exciting time for poker fanatics in Australia, with Melbourne’s Crown Casino turning into a hive of activity for just over two weeks. Over 6000 players, plus many spectators, descend on the Southbank location, in an attempt to win a share of the AUD $30 million on offer.

“Crown’s Aussie Millions Poker Championship continues to absolutely stamp itself on the global ‘must-attend’ list for both recreational players and seasoned pros alike,” Crown Melbourne’s Tournament Director Joel Williams said.

“With a schedule now featuring 26 official Championship events, 2017 looms as one of the biggest years yet.”

Aussie Millions Schedule 2017
Click to view the full schedule for the 2017 Aussie Millions, to be held in Melbourne, Victoria.
The 2017 Aussie Millions schedule consists of 26 separate events, with buy ins ranging from $1,150 to $250,000. A comprehensive slate of the game’s most popular variations will be on offer and a total of 25 coveted Aussie Millions ‘Championship Rings’ will be awarded to each event winner.

The winner of the ‘Main Event’ will walk away with an estimated $1.6 million first prize, and the coveted Champion bracelet valued at over $25,000.

While plenty of attention will be on the $10,600 buy-in Main Event, which starts on January 22 and finishes on the penultimate day of the tournament, there is plenty of other events that draw high profile players in, including the high-stakes $25k, $100k and 250k challenges.

Earlier this year Canadian Ari Engel won the Main Event, collecting over $1.6 million for his efforts. He defeated a field of 732 entrants, a number expected to be topped next year, over the week-long tournament. He defeated well-known poker identity Tony Dunst, a Las Vegas local, who is known as a World Poker Tour commentator.

Other past winners include Gus Hansen, Oliver Speidel, Tyron Krost and Ami Barer. The last Australian to win the tournament was Manny Stavropoulos in 2015, with the popular player hailing from Melbourne.

If you’re keen to get in the spirit of the Aussie Millions, give online poker a try, with players from United States accepted at Raging Bull Casino for real money or free play.

Show More